Benninghoff, Conklin Recognize Penn State Champions
HARRISBURG –The House of Representatives today unanimously approved two resolutions introduced by Reps. Kerry Benninghoff (R-Centre Mifflin) and Scott Conklin (D-Centre) recognizing the Penn State University men’s basketball and wrestling teams for championship-winning seasons.

House Resolution 954, introduced by Benninghoff, recognized Coach Patrick Chambers and the men's basketball team for their victory over the University of Utah and becoming the National Invitation Tournament (NIT) champions in 2018.

“It was a great year to be a Nittany Lion fan,” Benninghoff said. “Congratulations to both teams on their outstanding seasons, athleticism and leadership on behalf of all of us in Centre County and across this Commonwealth. We are proud to have cheered you on in your incredible accomplishments, both on and off the court, and on and off the mat.”

House Resolution 956, introduced by Conklin, congratulated Coach Cael Sanderson and the wresting team on its sixth National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division I championship in seven years, tying Penn State with Oklahoma for the fourth most NCAA Division I championships since 1928.

“Last year, the Penn State wrestling team was described as ‘dominant,’ but it’s time we use the correct word and call them what they truly are – a dynasty,” Conklin said. “I can’t tell you how much pride we have in what this team has done. These amazing young men fought back from points behind – from what many thought were overwhelming odds – to capture this championship.”

Head basketball coach Chambers, and players Lamar Stevens and John Harrar were formally recognized today on the House floor, as well as Coach Sanderson and wrestlers Zain Retherford and Nick Nevills.

Representative Kerry Benninghoff
171st Legislative District
Pennsylvania House of Representatives

Media Contact: Morgan Wagner
717.260.6281 /

Share |