Jan. 29, 2018

HARRISBURG – Fire and emergency response organizations in the 171st Legislative District have been awarded $163,378.75 in state grant funding, Rep. Kerry Benninghoff (R-Centre/Mifflin) announced today.

“Our community is blessed with incredible, dedicated fire and EMS organizations,” Benninghoff said. “I congratulate them on these much-needed and much-deserved awards, and I thank them for their bravery, sacrifice and willingness to serve those of us who live and work in the 171st.”

Following is a list of fire and emergency response organizations located in the 171st Legislative District, by county, and the amount of their grant awards:

  • Bellefonte Emergency Medical Services: $7,037.40

  • Boalsburg Fire Company: $14,491.96

  • Centre Hall Volunteer Fire Company: $10,500

  • Centre LifeLink Emergency Medical Services Inc.: $6,474.20

  • Gregg Township Volunteer Fire Co 1 :  $11,727.52

  • Logan Fire Company No. 1: $14,676.26

  • Millheim Fire Company No. 1: $13,017.59

  • Penns Valley Emergency Medical Services Inc : $7,028.24

  • Pleasant Gap Fire Company No. 1: $13,754.78

  • Pleasant Gap Fire Company No. 1 Emergency Medical Services: $7,037.40

  • Walker Township Volunteer Fire Company: $13,386.18


  • Decatur Volunteer Fire Company No. 1: $11,727.52

  • Milroy Hose Company 1: $12,833.30

  • Milroy Hose Company 1 Emergency Medical Services: $7,037.40

  • Reedsville Volunteer Fire Company: $12,649

No tax dollars are used to fund this grant program, which was created by the Legislature and is administered by the Pennsylvania Emergency Management Agency and Office of the State Fire Commissioner. All funding comes from the proceeds from slot machine gaming.



Every emergency service organization that completes the application process receives funding. Projects eligible for funding include: construction or renovation of a fire or ambulance company facility, purchase or repair of equipment, training or reduction of existing debt.


Representative Kerry Benninghoff
171st District
Pennsylvania House of Representatives


Media Contact: Morgan Wagner